Welcome to the Maths Department

The Maths department at St Monica’s are a team of experienced and committed practitioners. We are all Maths specialists with strong subject knowledge. We strive to ensure that all pupils leave St Monica’s with the knowledge and skills in numeracy, logic and problem-solving to equip them for future life and encourage all pupils to be the best mathematicians they can be.

Curriculum Intent

The Mathematics Curriculum at St Monica’s has been designed to develop curious, resilient problem solvers, who listen to, and value the opinion of others. By building confidence through a particular sequence of learning, learners will be able to grapple with difficult tasks, and give reasoning behind what they are doing. They will learn real life skills that will enable them to make intelligent financial decisions, be open minded and tough opponents for issues they face. They will have a love of maths and number and enjoy the challenge that difficult situations bring.

Curriculum Overview

Our curriculum map below outlines the programme of study in Maths for all pupils from Year 7 to Year 11. We build on knowledge from Key Stage 2 and prepare our students for life beyond St Monica’s.

Click here to view our Mathematics curriculum overview.

Learning Journeys

Our learning journeys outline, in a visual format, the key knowledge that is shared with pupils in each year group. They provide a reference point for teaching and sharing knowledge in lessons.

Click here to view our learning journeys.

Knowledge Organisers

We use our Maths Knowledge Organisers to reinforce key knowledge and key vocabulary.

Click here to view our knowledge organisers.

Maths Staff

Head of Maths: Miss A Torkington                  a.torkington@stmonicas.co.uk

Second in Maths: Miss Z Melia                        z.melia@stmonicas.co.uk

Numeracy Lead: Mr A Baidoo                         a.baidoo@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of Maths: Mrs M Gibson                   m.gibson@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of Maths: Mrs U Braun                     u.braun@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of Maths: Miss B Henry                    b.henry@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of Maths: Mr A Rodger                     a.rodger@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of Maths: Mr Tepa                            e.tepa@stmonicas.co.uk

How Maths Links to our PSHE programme

We encourage our students to be resilient learners and show courage in their approach to their studies in mathematics. We encourage them to aspire to be the best possible mathematician, showing patience and a calm and methodical to problem-solving. We strive to create an atmosphere of respect in the classroom as answers are shared.

Key Stage 4 Outline and Rationale

Pupils in Year 10 and Year 11 follow the Edexcel GCSE Mathematics specification. Pupils will be entered for either Foundation or Higher Tier. Our experienced team have delivered this specification for several examination series.

Pearson | GCSE | Mathematics | Specification at a glance

Useful websites

GCSE Maths – Edexcel – BBC Bitesize

 To find out more about the Maths curriculum, please email a.torkington@stmonicas.co.uk