Welcome to the English Department

We are an enthusiastic and hard-working team of specialist English teachers. We aim to provide equal learning opportunities for all. We build strong relationships with our students   developing respect, support and encouragement throughout their learning journey at St Monica’s. Students enjoy learning in the classroom and also through the wide range of extra- curricular opportunities we offer.

Curriculum Intent

English is central to the curriculum and to society. Our intent focuses on pupils’ ability to communicate with others, expressing their well-informed ideas and emotions on society with articulation and fluency through the written and spoken word. The English Department aim to foster a love of literature and through reading a wide variety of literary heritage and modern texts, pupils acquire knowledge of the world around them developing culturally, emotionally, intellectually, socially and spiritually. Our pupils become fully functioning members of society, living out Gospel Values; respecting inherent human dignity, living with humility, having the desire to serve others before themselves, becoming Catholics of character who can make the world a better place.

Curriculum Map

Our curriculum map below outlines the programme of study in English for all pupils from Year 7 to Year 11. We build on knowledge from Key Stage 2 and prepare our students for life beyond St Monica’s.

Click here to view our English curriculum overview.

Learning Journeys

Our learning journeys outline, in a visual format, the key knowledge that is shared with pupils in each year group. They provide a reference point for teaching and sharing knowledge in lessons.

Click here to view our learning journeys.

Knowledge Organisers

We use Knowledge Organisers to support the teaching of key knowledge and more ambitious vocabulary.

Click here to view our year 7 knowledge organisers.

Click here to view our year 8 knowledge organisers.

Click here to view our year 9 knowledge organisers.

Access to our knowledge organisers can be found through in the section Knowledge Organisers.

English Staff

Head of English: Mr T Dalton                         t.dalton@stmonicas.co.uk

Second in English: Miss J Latham                  j.latham@stmonicas.co.uk

Literacy Lead: Miss E Kidd                            e.kidd@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of English: Mr C Philips                    c.philips@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of English Mrs C Shaughnessy          c.shaughnessy@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of English: Mrs G Walker                  g.walker@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of English: Mrs O Spedding              o.spedding@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of English: Mrs H Roberts                 h.roberts@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of English: Miss A Bentley                a.bentley@stmonicas.co.uk

Teacher of English: Miss A Wolfenden           a.wolfenden@stmonicas.co.uk

How English Links to our PSHE programme

All texts studied encourage the study of our Gospel values: Faith, Honesty, Dignity, Integrity, Humility and Justice, giving rise to appropriate discussions which take place in classrooms.

Key Stage 4 Outline and Rationale

Pupils in Year 10 and Year 11 follow the AQA GCSE English Language and English Literature courses. Staff have expertise in delivering this specification as some are experienced examiners and many staff have delivered the programme for a number of years.

AQA | GCSE | English Language | Specification at a glance

AQA | GCSE | English Literature | Specification at a glance

Useful websites

https://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/english

http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/english/gcse/english-language-8700/assessment-resources

http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/english/gcse/english-literature-8702/assessment-resources

http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/english/

To find out more about the English curriculum, please email t.dalton@stmonicas.co.uk